Horton Cars

Unit 1 & 2 Thame Road, Oakley, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, HP18 9QQ
Review garage Back to garage

Reviews

    • 90
    Superb service from Graham and his team with a very difficult issue with my V70. Nothing was too much trouble and during the repair, which took longer than we expected, I was provided with a similar courtesy car so I wasn’t off the road. This was a fault that I feel other garages would have either given up on, or not taken on in the first place! Not Horton Cars though! They clearly have a huge knowledge of their subject and I wouldn’t hesitate to travel the hour and a half to them again. Thank you Graham and team for all your hard work getting my Volvo performing as it should. I’m a very happy customer. Martin Reviewed: November 07, 2020
    • 95
    3rd annual visit now. This involves a 180 mile round trip which speaks for itself. Great business, highly knowledgable people and great value - I can’t recommend it enough. Reviewed: January 18, 2020
    • 85
    Purchased a Volvo and had a service and towbar fitted, the whole experience of dealing with Graham and his team was fantastic, although the garage is an hour away from me I will be using them for servicing and repairs in the future. Good old fashioned service that is hard to find. Reviewed: June 23, 2019
    • 85
    With a 10 year-old Volvo which was having major gearbox problems, having found Horton Cars on the internet they were able to diagnose the problems on the phone, confirm the diagnosis when we arrived and return the car to us in good order 2 days later. It was also fully serviced. We drove some 500 miles from Scotland to come to this true Volvo specialist - we could find no equivalent closer to home - and it was well worthwhile. We could not have been more impressed with Graham and his team and recommend them most highly. Reviewed: July 20, 2018
    • 90
    Reviewed: May 25, 2018
    • 90
    I found Horton Cars via their blog on Volvo gearboxes. I had just been quoted £4,500 + labour by a Volvo main dealer to change a 6 speed Geartronic autobox that was starting to thump into gear from coasting at low speeds. Diagnosis of gearbox issues is not a common skill. The Volvo dealers I visited knew very little about gearboxes, other than the usual "sealed for life", not serviceable line. Graham's Horton Cars blog on the subject made it very obvious that they knew and had experience of sorting these types of issues. I live 50 miles from Horton Cars, but decided it was worth the effort to visit. I chatted on the phone first and then booked the car in. My experience at Horton Cars has been exemplary. My gearbox is fixed (for way way less than the dealer was going to charge), and so are a number of other issues that had been bugging me that main dealers were unable to identify, Graham and his team really know Volvos! I did have a problem following my visit, but Graham has a no quibble policy and bent over backwards to make sure I was happy, all without further charge. I am very happy and can recommend Horton Cars very highly in deed. A lovely bunch of chaps and very trustworthy. Thank you Graham! Reviewed: April 04, 2018
    • 95
    We purchased our Volvo V70 from Graeme and his team about 7 years ago. It has proved to be an excellent purchase. We recently had a problem with an intermittent electrical problem resulting in the speedo not working consistently and the ABS sign flashing up. Our local garage was not able to assist and referred us to two other places who were not able to diagnose what the issue was given its intermittent nature. Once even suggested we think about scrapping the car given its high mileage. After 5 minutes of talking with Graeme on the phone he not only accurately diagnosed the problem but arranged for us to visit him the following day so he could try and fix it. Although the garage is over 70 miles from our house it was a very worthwhile trip. The issue seems to have been sorted and we are hoping we will now have a few more years left in the car! The service was excellent once again and we would highly recommend Hortons and its knowledgeable staff to any Volvo users looking for a garage that knows its business inside out and really does go the extra mile to assist customers. Reviewed: April 03, 2018
    • 95
    Seriously impressive outfit. We had a clutch on the family V70 that decided it was going to start to slip on Christmas eve evening while driving to see family..... With plenty of driving planned over the Christmas/New Year break, and a large repair job required, I was understandably worried about being able to get the car sorted at short notice and assumed I was pretty much stuck with it until the New Year. At about 9pm on Boxing day I e-mailed Horton expecting a reply within a couple of days best case. An hour later Graham had replied and I was booked in for the 28th! By 3pm (on the 28th December) Graham was calling me (I was out and about quite happily off in one of his courtesy cars) to tell me the work was completed and the car ready to collect. This was less than 48 hours after my first e-mail on Boxing day! Graham was kind enough to show me the parts he would be fitting and even showed me the old clutch parts when I returned to pay to show the level of wear. A bulb that had failed on the way to the garage was also replaced without me even mentioning it which was a nice touch - as was having a courtesy car fully warmed up for me when I arrived on an early frosty morning. I made a 160 mile round journey for this work and would do it again without hesitation. I should mention that the total cost of the clutch kit (inclusive of a dual mass flywheel) and labour was comparable to the cost of JUST the dual mass flywheel I had found on one of the major car part websites. The overall bill was simply great value for genuine Volvo parts and Graham's expertise. Graham has an great manner with customers - he keeps the terminology simple and whilst he clearly knows his stuff he is very careful to genuinely listen to customers to determine what the exact issue is - suggesting going for a drive with a customer to determine precisely what problem they were experiencing and suggested a cost effective fault finding process that tackled the cheaper potential causes of the fault first. I know this because I was sat in reception waiting to pay while this was occurring! Horton Volvo is a class act and a great outfit. Try it you won't be disappointed. I am not affiliated in any way to this garage - I am however seriously impressed! Well done guys and thank you. PK Reviewed: January 05, 2018

    DUPLICATE

    • 95
    Seriously impressive outfit. We had a clutch on the family V70 that decided it was going to start to slip on Christmas eve evening while driving to see family..... With plenty of driving planned over the Christmas/New Year break, and a large repair job required, I was understandably worried about being able to get the car sorted at short notice and assumed I was pretty much stuck with it until the New Year. At about 9pm on Boxing day I e-mailed Horton expecting a reply within a couple of days best case. An hour later Graham had replied and I was booked in for the 28th! By 3pm (on the 28th December) Graham was calling me (I was out and about quite happily off in one of his courtesy cars) to tell me the work was completed and the car ready to collect. This was less than 48 hours after my first e-mail on Boxing day! Graham was kind enough to show me the parts he would be fitting and even showed me the old clutch parts when I returned to pay to show the level of wear. A bulb that had failed on the way to the garage was also replaced without me even mentioning it which was a nice touch - as was having a courtesy car fully warmed up for me when I arrived on an early frosty morning. I made a 160 mile round journey for this work and would do it again without hesitation. I should mention that the total cost of the clutch kit (inclusive of a dual mass flywheel) and labour was comparable to the cost of JUST the dual mass flywheel I had found on one of the major car part websites. The overall bill was simply great value for genuine Volvo parts and Graham's expertise. Graham has an great manner with customers - he keeps the terminology simple and whilst he clearly knows his stuff he is very careful to genuinely listen to customers to determine what the exact issue is - suggesting going for a drive with a customer to determine precisely what problem they were experiencing and suggested a cost effective fault finding process that tackled the cheaper potential causes of the fault first. I know this because I was sat in reception waiting to pay while this was occurring! Horton Volvo is a class act and a great outfit. Try it you won't be disappointed. I am not affiliated in any way to this garage - I am however seriously impressed! Well done guys and thank you. PK Reviewed: December 30, 2017
    • 90
    Absolutely excellent service! Right from the initial phone call I felt that I could trust the garage. I was given updates during the repair and I feel well pleased with all the work that has been done and the cost was most reasonable. Even a courtesy car was supplied while the work was being carried out. Everything was explained and I was advised on the best course to take to put the car right. I will always take my Volvo to this garage now. Reviewed: September 16, 2017

Opening times

Monday Mon 08:30 - 17:30
Tuesday Tue 08:30 - 17:30
Wednesday Wed 08:30 - 17:30
Thursday Thu 08:30 - 17:30
Friday Fri 08:30 - 17:30
Saturday Sat 09:00 - 13:00
Sunday Sun Closed

Get an estimate

Submit a quick form to get an estimate from Horton Cars

Click here